4th of July

Today’s the 4th of July, and that means only one thing to me…barbecue.  Everyone can acknowledge that BBQ and summer go together.  Every year my extended family gets together for this holiday to eat good food.  I volunteered myself to bring brisket. I’m not talking about any BBQ brisket, but rather a slow-cooked texas style brisket. Good meat + spices + time = perfection.

To start, get a nice cut of brisket. You don’t want it too lean, but it’s ok to get really fatty because you can always trim it later. I trimmed off a bit of one of my briskets, but i put the fat back on for cooking.  I just didn’t want to cut it off afterwards.

Grab your spices, mix em up, and rub those bad boys down. Get in every crevice of the meat.  This rub has some bite, but not too much (my mother can’t handle the heat so I couldn’t make it too hot).

I covered them up and let them sit in the fridge for about 8 hours. When I got home around 1:30 am (yes it was a good friday), I put them into a 225 degree oven. With about 3 hours left, I uncovered the foil so the fat could really render and soak into the meat.

Since I have the grill out, why not cook everything on it? It makes sense and, well what the hell, I just want to. I sliced up zucchini and tossed it with salt/pepper/ extra-virgin olive oil and threw it on the ‘bah-bee”. Then i pre-boiled some corn for about 10 minutes then grilled that. I quartered juicy beefsteak tomatoes, sprinkled it with salt/pepper/extra-virgin olive oil and sugar. Normally i put balsamic vinegar on it, but i chose sugar today so the tomatoes would caramelize. They turned out to be awesome.

Throw a few Portuguese sausages on the grill and you’re set. I don’t know how popular these are in the 48 states. In Hawaii, it’s at every grocery store. But after I have lived in Washington for 2 years, I’ve yet to see one in the store. Chorizo would make a good substitute.

The sauce is a quick and easy fix too. Grab two beers, one for the sauce and one for the hard working chef. I used Sam Adams Boston Lager because I recently bought the Summer Styles variety pack and couldn’t justify using Summer Ale or Blackberry Witbier in a sauce. The brisket alone is fabulous, but some just like a sauce on their meat. This sauce is tangy, which compliments the little kick from the brisket.

Slow-Cooked Texas-Style Brisket

1 6-lb brisket (or totaling up to 6 lbs)
3 T dark brown sugar
3 T kosher salt
6 T paprika
3 t garlic powder
1 1/2 T onion powder
1 1/2 t cayenne
3 t ground cumin
2 t ground black pepper

Mix all rub ingredients well and rub meat all over. Place meat in fridge at least 4 hous, but preferably overnight. When ready, heat oven to 225 degrees F. Cover brisket in a roasting pan with foil.

Here’s the challenge; wait 9 hours then uncover the foil and let it go another 2 or 3. There should be a nice puddle of fat on the bottom of the pan (but use foil so there’s no mess!). Take a sample, but try not to eat all of it.

After it’s done, slice it against the grain and serve it plain or with the sauce below.

Tangy BBQ Sauce

1 medium can (15 oz) tomato sauce (or puree diced tomatoes)
1 small can tomato paste (or ketchup if you’re out)
1 cup beer (remember, one’s for the sauce!!!)
3/4 cup cider vinegar
3/4 cup pureed pineapple chunks (small 8 0z can)
3 t Worchestershire sauce
3 T soy sauce

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan. Bring it to a boil and simmer about 10-15 minutes. Use a bit of cornstarch if you like a thick sauce.

For an absolutely true BBQ, I’d use a smoker or my charcoal grill with wood chips, but maintaining temperature on that for 12 hours would be insane, no literally it would be. So I went the oven route, but no one could tell the difference.

This is my first recipe post and I hope you like it. Happy 4th of July!

One Response

  1. Congrats on the new food blog! I’m putting this bbq sauce on my list to make. I gave away my last jar of home made sauce, so it’s time to make more!

Leave a Reply

