A treat for a friend

Last night was my good friend’s birthday. Several years ago, I made her a raspberry truffle brownie that to this day she talks about. After a search of desperation, I found my recipe.

I had no Baker’s Unsweetened Chocolate on hand, but I did have Nestle Pre-melted unsweetened.  Having never used it before, I hesitated a bit about going to the store to buy my preferred chocolate. But I thought “what the hell” and went with the pre-melted stuff. This is a really simple recipe, and it’s quick to prepare.

For the liqueur, you can use any berry liqueur (Dekuyper Pucker cherri, Chambord, Leroux black berry, or what I used, Raspberry di Amore). Just remember to save some for the brownies!

I used a 9″ springform pan so I’d have a “pie” shape. You may use a 9″ x 13″ rectangular pan or whatever else you prefer. And for the butter, I have never preferred unsalted to salted. There isn’t much salt in salted butter anyways, so I’ve always cooked and baked with salted sweet cream butter. It’s more flavorful. If you’re really concerned with your diet, use unsalted…or don’t eat brownies!

Raspberry Truffle Brownies

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and coat your pan with butter.

12 T butter
4 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped or pre-melted chocolate
3 large eggs, room temperature
2 cups sugar
1/3 cup raspberry preserves
3 T raspberry liqueur or other berry liqueur
1 cup all-purpose flour, sifted or not
1/4 t salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

In a saucepan, melt butter and chocolate over low heat, stirring until silky smooth. Remove from heat and whisk in eggs, sugar, preserves, and liqueur. Lastly, stir in the flour and salt.

Place batter in pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean, about 45 minutes. Serve with fresh raspberries and/or mint.

One Response

  1. MY brownie cake!! This is sooooo delicious! the best brownies ive ever eaten! it looks rich and sweet, but its the perfect taste! not tooo sweet!

Leave a Reply

