A familiar face with a familar place…

This past weekend, I took my girlfriend to Formaggio Grill, a local restaurant known for it’s wine bar and awesome food. I’ve been there several times before, but I never get tired of it. The 30 minute wait may have made the food taste better. Either way, it was sublime.

Formaggio has an eclectic menu of mediterranean cuisine with some local flare. There are items on the menu that are a must-have every time I visit.

We started off with one of those items…the lobster bisque.

bisque

They have THE BEST lobster bisque I’ve ever had, period. It’s not too creamy or too seafood-y. They use fresh Maine lobster, not canned meat like some might put in it. We enjoyed that with another must-have item, their crab cakes.

cakes

The saffron aioli on the side is heavenly. Their crab cakes are not too oily but also not too dry. These are some of the best crab cakes I’ve had, next to mine of course ;).

We prepared our palate for the main course with their house salad. They feature an 18-year old balsamic vinagairette with it. Enough said.

salad

The goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes really put it over the top.

Formaggio has a section on the menu featuring hot pot classics. Everything is cooked in one cast iron pot. They’re great for sharing with friends or to hog all by yourself.

lamb

We went with the lamb because lamb is always a good choice.This was no exception. The tender chunks of meat, sweet peppers, fingerling potatoes, and wine sauce went down gloriously. I’m sure my tummy agreed as well.

wine

I washed down the lamb with a glass of 2006 Norton Malbec from Mendoza, Argentina. It had a nice fruity taste with a bold finish. It was a little too bold for me, but it was still enjoyable. It was my first Argentinian wine and I don’t regret choosing it.

This isn’t a restaurant review (because I don’t get paid!), but I highly recommend visiting Formaggio if you haven’t before. Their wine bar in downtown Honolulu is also a great spot to go after work. I give it 4.5 stars (just kidding).

What goes better with great food than…parasailing!

parasail 015

parasail 022

parasail 019

parasail 021

It actually has nothing to do with food, or at least not that I can think of. But what the heck, I thought I’d share. It was fun and definitely worth the mental battle fought in my head over falling 300 feet to my death šŸ™‚

One Response

  1. Awh……………..babe, thanks for taking me……….it was sublime!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We tore up that lobster bisque huh?
    The parasailing was pretty nuts too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so glad I got to share it with you!!!! Two of us against the world right babe!?!!!

Leave a Reply

