My going away dinner…

This past friday, my family threw a dinner for me as I left the rock in the sea for Washington once more. My mom and I did all of the cooking. I made BBQ chicken (this one), BBQ pulled pork, grilled veggies, ribs and much more. That doesn’t even include dessert.

So I was busy all day starting three fires to cook everything. I made my usual BBQ pork (which I’ll go into later), chicken, ribs, veggies, and got taro rolls. My mom made the chocolate cake (which i didn’t eat since I’m not a big dessert person) potato salad, fruit salad, and salad. My girlfriend also brought another fruit salad.

This post will feature the Guava BBQ ribs I made. The sauce is really easy to make. Ribs in general are easy to make because you boil them, grill em, then grill em again with the sauce. They were fall-off-the-bone tender baby.  Some people like their ribs like steak, but I like mine really tender so you just suck em off the bone and swallow.

Guava BBQ Ribs

3 full slabs of baby back ribs, cut in 4-rib sections
1/8 cup sea salt
3 cloves garlic, smashed
1 inch ginger, cut into circles
2 stalks green onion, whole (roots and all)
Water to submerge ribs

Put ribs in tall stockpot and add water and salt. Add garlic, ginger, and green onion and bring to a boil, then simmer on gentle boil for 45 minutes. Char ribs on the grill flipping twice each side. Add the sauce (below) and grill it again while basting with sauce two times each side.

Tangy Guava BBQ sauce

2 cans guava nectar concentrate 11.5 oz
1 1/2 cups chopped onion
2/3 cup guava jelly
1/3 cup dry sherry
1/4 cup molasses, mild flavor
3 tbsp. red wine vinegar
2 tbsp. tomato paste
1 1/2 tbsp. chopped garlic
1 tbsp. dried cumin
2 tbsp. dried mustard

Whisk all ingredients in a large saucepan.  Boil mixture whisking until jelly dissolves.  Reduce heat and simmer sauce until reduced to 3 cups.  Cool.

This sauce will make the ribs so sweet and yet smoky. Guava is common in the frozen juice section in Hawaii, but I’m not sure about on the mainland. It can probably be found at a specialty store or a Latino food store (that’s what I was told).

Now do yourself a favor and buy some ribs and make them icky sticky good!

2 Responses

  1. That was a rockin’ dinner!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I ate too much that night!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love my baby’s pork…….sooooooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. […] the best ribs I have EVER had, and that’s saying alot. First I boiled them like the Tangy Guava Ribs, then I smoked them (because my grill does both), and finished them off by grilling them while […]

Leave a Reply

