Banana Bread…

To many of us, banana bread brings up childhood nostalgia. Mom making banana bread with overripe bananas happened occasionally and you can remember toasting it with some butter.  Hungry yet? Well if not, you will be at the end of this post. I like making banana bread. On a side note, I also like making mango bread, but that’s a story for another time.

Most people have mixed feelings about banana bread. Sometimes it’s gooey in the middle.  Other times it’s dry in the middle and even drier on the outside. This is because of either improper proportions or maybe too hot of an oven for too long. I like my recipe because it’s not dry or gooey. It’s a soft texture throughout the entire loaf, with a nice buttery crust.

How do I do this? Many mad scientific experiments using highly classified ingredients over many years conducted in an underground bunker in the middle of the desert! OK maybe I’m exaggerating. Just trial and error with adding this, removing this, substituting that, etc.

This is a really easy recipe because no mixer is needed. Everything can be done in one mixing bowl.

You will note that almond extract and cinnamon are in the recipe. Today I added those to the mixture. Normally I omit them. But I felt a little mad-scientist-y and wanted to experiment with it. I also don’t like to mash the bananas into a fine puree because I like biting into a little chunk here and there, but it is for the most part mashed up. Think of it as cottage cheese in consistancy. I use white sugar, but while making it, I thought to myself “hmm, what about turbinado sugar?”.  An experiment for another time my friends.

Also, the flour can be sifted or not. Sometimes I sift, but seeing as I rode my bike home in 93 degrees, I didn’t feel like it :).

Banana Bread

3 ripe bananas
1/3 cup butter, melted
1 beaten egg
1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 teaspoon pure almond extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
ground cinnamon

1 4×8 buttered loaf pan

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a bowl, mash the bananas with a wooden spoon. Make it as fine of a mash as you desire. Mix in the melted butter, egg, sugar, vanilla, and almond extract. Mix in the salt and baking soda. Lastly, add the flour to the mixture and mix well. Pour it into your loaf pan. Sprinkle the top lightly with cinnamon. You don’t want a clump of cinnamon in your mouth when you eat it.

Bake for 1 hour and let cool on a wire rack. Be sure to get a slice out of the oven while its still steaming. Mmmmm! 😛

bread

Leave a Reply

