Shrimp yellow curry…

Ok, so for the past couple of days, I’ve been craving curry.  If you know me well, your jaw would be on the ground now. Growing up (and even until a few months ago) I hated curry.  The smell and look just turned me off to it.  However, I tried it to be brave at an Indian restaurant and it was great. I also had some at several Thai places. I always go for the yellow curry because it’s flavor is the smoothest. I do spice it up because I like my food like I like my women… hot!

bowl

Ok, I’m entitled to one cheesy line per post.  I haven’t had much seafood since my departure from Hawaii, so I wanted some shrimp.  I coupled that with carrots, potatoes, and Hawaiian chili peppers. These suckers are hot! I only used two, well along with some cayenne and chili flakes.

Everything can me made in one pot, which is a dream for busy students or moms. The flavor can also be adjusted as you like it at the end. Depending on the brand of curry paste, you might want more or less sugar or spice.

Shrimp Yellow Curry

1/2 lb shrimp, cleaned
1 T coconut oil
1 small onion
1 T ginger, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 T yellow curry paste
2 cups coconut milk (or one standard 14oz can)
2 medium sized baby white or red potatoes, diced
2 carrots, cut into chunks
2 chili peppers, chopped
1 T curry powder
1 T sugar
Cayenne powder, chili flakes, or sambal sauce to taste

Heat oil in large saucepan over medium heat. Brown onion, then add the garlic and ginger.
Add curry paste and mix well. It will be clumpy don’t freak out.
Add coconut milk and if you like, 1/4-1/3 cup water to thin it out.
Add carrots and potatoes and bring to a boil. Leave it uncovered, so the curry thickens.
When veggies are cooked, add peppers, sugar, curry powder, and shrimp. Simmer for 5 minutes until the shrimp turns pink. You don’t want to overcook it and have rubbery shrimp.

curry

Leave a Reply

