Triple Whammy Burgers…

After the lip-smackin ribs I made last week, I was in the “triple whammy” mood. How could I apply that concept to something else that could be cooked on  the grill? Then I had the greatest burger idea ever imagined (or i thought so!).  I decided to combine ground beef, ground bacon, and ground turkey for my burger meat. It’s lean because of the turkey ;).

Unfortunately, the meat department would not grind my bacon because of species cross-contamination. However, a butcher may be able to do it for you. I diced it up myself instead and it worked fine. I used 93% lean ground turkey and 85% lean ground beef as well.

The great thing about the burgers was I didn’t need eggs or any other binding materials to make it stick. The bacon fat held everything together. Binding materials are usually a homemade burger problem. Often they limit the flavor of a burger. Have no fear; no flavor limiting here.

First we have chips and salsa and guacamole for the 1:00 football game…

chips

I threw some garlic, Worcestershire sauce, finely diced sweet onion, and shredded cheddar cheese into the meat mix. What’s better than cheese on a burger? I’ll tell you what… cheese in a burger!! This was a total Einstein weekend for me. Although, you can’t put too much cheese in there otherwise it won’t bind well.

The flavors blended together exquisitely. The outer edges of the burger tasted of crispy bacon while the beef and turkey mixture was just great.

Here’s the lovely pre-cooked burger…

raw

It smelled soooo good I almost risked illness to dig in and eat it!

I cooked them over charcoal and hickory chunks for extra flavor (you’ll notice I like smoky flavorings)

grill

Tong holding courtesy of Aaron Crane, and such lovely form you’ll notice.

We also had some sauteed brussels sprouts, roasted sweet potato fries and grilled zucchini.

plate

I had some leftover BBQ sauce from last week’s ribs so I put some on my burger and dipped fries in them.

This plate, a Sam Adams Octoberfest, and Sunday Night Football all contributed to a good evening. Cheers

Triple Whammy Burgers

1.5 lb sliced bacon
2 lb ground beef
2 lb ground turkey
1/4 cup diced onion
5 t Worcestershire sauce
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/8 cup italian breadcrumbs (optional, not needed)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
Fresh ground black pepper (no salt needed b/c of the bacon)

Save about 3 slices for the brussels sprouts and dice up the bacon as fine as possible. Mix the bacon, beef, turkey, Worcestershire, garlic, pepper, breadcrumbs and onion up well. Mix it well with your hands, but don’t overdo it. You don’t want to macerate the meat.  Let sit in the fridge for a couple hours to let the flavors set.

Mix in the cheese just before shaping. Make sure the cheese gets mixed well and evenly. Form into patties (i went with half-pounders. Because you have to cook these well-done (b/c the turkey), don’t make them too fat otherwise the middles won’t be cooked until the outsides are burnt. I made mine a little fat, but flattened them on the grill.

Once done, I topped with more shredded cheese and BBQ sauce. But they were delicious on their own.

Sauteed Bacon and Brussels Sprouts

1.5 lbs brussels sprouts, halved
3 slices of bacon
1/4 cup butter
3-4 green onions, sliced thinly
salt and pepper

Cook the bacon in a saute pan over medium high heat until crispy and remove from the pan, saving about 2 T of grease. Crumble or finely dice the bacon.

Add the butter to the saved grease and add the sprouts and green onions to the pan. Cook over medium heat for about 10-15 minutes, until the sprouts are wilted, but not soggy. They’ll have a nice browning to them, but still have a crunch in the middle. Season with salt and pepper.

Add the bacon to the pan just before serving and mix well.

*Shallots will go excellent with this, but I just forgot them.

*next post on wheat bread*

3 Responses

  1. Bacon makes everything better! Looks delicious Kyle, I need to give the recipe to my cook.

  2. […] with some Triple Whammy Burgers, it’s a good party.  This time I took out the cheese and onion and added a homemade spice […]

  3. […] with the “triple”s Kyle? Triple Whammy Burgers, Ribs, Grilled Cheese, etc.  What’s the deal?  Well, some say good things come in threes so […]

Leave a Reply

