Honey Wheat Bread…

Ryan asked about a good honey wheat bread in the food requests section. As promised, I have here a recipe I use often.  I have made some variations and sometimes I change this one up, but for the most part, this is my standard when I want some sandwich bread.

I sometimes add cereal grains or wheat germ for more flavor/texture, but this recipe is plain so you can add whatever you like.  I use bread flour because I like a thicker more “bread-y” bread. You can use regular flour as well, it works great.

yeast

I use active dry yeast, so no prep is needed. However, it’s a habit for me so I do it anyways. It doesn’t cause any harm.

Honey Wheat Bread

3 cups water (95-105)
2 T yeast
1/3 cup honey

Mix these three ingredients in a bowl and mix to awaken the yeast.

5 cups whole wheat bread flour

Mix into the yeast mixture and set 30 minutes.

3 T melted butter
1/3 c honey
1 T salt

Mix into the dough. Stir in another 2 cups whole wheat flour (or until it comes together). Knead it now either in the mixer or by hand for about 5 minutes. Let it rise until doubled.

Punch down dough and divide into 3 equal loaves (or 2 large ones). Put them into 9 x 5 loaf pans and let them rise until they crown the pans by 1″.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, until the internal temperature is 190. Brush the tops with 2 T melted butter as they cool.

done

*next post…home cured bacon and scalloped potatoes*

Leave a Reply

