Chorizo, Tomato, and Goat Cheese Pizza…

Because Tiffany requested a homemade pizza recipe, here it is.  It’s a delicious, simple, crispy pizza that will tingle the senses.  It’s a simple dough.  Normally, I put olive oil in my dough, but I want this to be crispy and dry so I left it out.  As for the toppings, I went with goat cheese, roma tomatoes, loose chorizo, and spinach.  Like I said…simple.

But the oils from the chorizo run into the gooey clumps of goat cheese and the savory chorizo flavor compliments the tart goat cheese and  sweetness of the tomatoes.  It really is a good combination, one of my favorites.

I got the idea from Conrad Gallagher’s cookbook One Pot Wonders.

book

All the dishes are one-pot dishes, something appealing to working single people or busy moms…or lazy college students.  Did I say that? Oops.  He however uses arugula, slices his cheese, and uses sliced chorizo.  I did alter the recipe in all those ways.  I like my cheese crumbled, my chorizo loose in bits (so I bought it in a plastic sleeve), and spinach better than arugula on pizza.

The dough was made in my kitchen aid, but you can do it in a food processor if you have one large enough.  You may also do it by hand, but why cut with a spoon right?

If you’re not familiar with chorizo, you’re missing out. I used mexican beef chorizo.  It’s also available in pork.  As for the goat cheese, I used plain, not the herb crusted type.

bread

I pre-baked the crust to give it a crispy texture, otherwise the toppings will make it soggy.  Experienced pizza makers know this already.  I also shaped it into rectangles by hand for that artisan touch.  No one likes cardboard like delivery pizza….ughk!  You’ll notice that it does puff up during the pre-bake.  Don’t panic, just poke the pockets to let steam out.

Overall, the flavor and texture combination was superb, so I know you’ll like it Tiff.

Chorizo, Tomato, and Goat Cheese Pizza

Dough:

4 cups all-purpose flour
1 t salt
pinch of sugar
2 cups warm water (90-100 F)
2 t active dry yeast

Toppings:

10 oz loose mexican beef chorizo
5 roma tomatoes, sliced about 1/4″ thick
2 4 oz logs goat cheese
1 1/2 cups spinach (for bottom layer)
2 cups spinach (for topping)
few tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper

Mix water and yeast and let sit a minute.  Combine dry ingredients in mixer bowl.  Mix the water in slowly on medium speed with a dough hook for about 10 minutes until a smooth dough is formed.

Shape it into 4 rectangles, or circles if you like.  Let them rest 30 minutes.  Preheat oven to 350 F.  Bake for 20 minutes, remove, and let sit a minute or two. Lower oven to 325 F.

Sprinkle the dough with spinach, top with tomatos, goat cheese, and chorizo. Season with salt and pepper and bake for additional 10 minutes.

Toss the rest of the spinach in olive oil, salt and pepper.  Top the pizza with spinach when done.

finished

*next up…jalapeno-cheddar scones*…

Leave a Reply

