No Crust Cranberry Pie

People, I am facing an eminent threat.  There are a lot of cranberries in my freezer.  Ok, so maybe it’s not THAT big of a deal, but by the time I move out of my apartment next month, I can’t have any frozen things.  So it’s time for a cranberry baking spree!

Fresh cranberries (although frozen, they’re still fresh-ish) are great additions to baked goods.  I like making bars, pies, muffins, scones, and whatever else I can stir them into.

The other day I made a cranberry pie and brought it to work to share.  I love a traditional pie with a buttery flaky crust and a gooey center.  But I also love being lazy, which was the case here.  Making the pie batter double as a crust base is one of the greatest baking creations of all time.  It took me about 5 minutes to make this pie, which is ridiculous.

For a quick, delicious pie, you cannot go wrong here.

100_2106

 

Don’t cut up the cranberries, otherwise they’ll make the pie soggy.  Keeping them whole keeps the pie firm and every bite burst with sweetness.

You can also do an optional streusel topping here, but I didn’t have enough walnuts for it.  Either way, it’s delicious.  By the time I went on break at work, the pie was gone.  Lucky for me I had a slice as soon as it cooled out of the oven.

awesome

Oh yeah baby…

No Crust Cranberry Pie

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup white sugar
1/4 t salt
2 cups cranberries (use cups, not 16 oz weight)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 melted butter
2 eggs, beaten
1 t Amaretto or almond extract

Streusel topping (optional)

1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
2 T butter
2 T flour

Mix well and top pie before baking.

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Butter a 9 inch pie pan.

Combine flour, sugar, and salt.  Stir in cranberries and walnuts.  Stir in butter, eggs, and almond extract.  Mix well and pour into the pie pan.

Bake for 40 minutes or until toothpick comes out of the center clean.

*next up…apple cranberry crisp…*

 

One Response

  1. looks yummy:)
    but I have no experience, I believe you should be more specific in the steps
    Can you send the recipe step by step?
    my email: mqr.etana @ gmail.com
    espero tu respuesta:)
    good blog (Y)
    TNKS

Leave a Reply

