Pumpkin Butterscotch Fluffies…

I know I said the next post was a chicken Florentine casserole, but I feel like staying in the thanksgiving mood by posting this recipe first.  Later this week I’ll come back to the Florentine.  These pumpkin butterscotch fluffies are a very easy and delicious dessert.  You may be asking yourself, “What is a fluffy?”.  Well, I don’t know.  Quite frankly I made it up because brownie and blondie didn’t fit.  It would be a brownie or a blondie, but it doesn’t have chocolate or brown sugar.  I could call it an Orangie because of the color, but I’ll leave the debate to you.

I made these last year and brought it to work.  Everyone devoured them so I wanted to make them again.

Man oh man I wanna cut into that rectangle of butterscotch heaven.  The butterscotch chips melt creating those wholes and leaving a puddle in the middle of the fluffy bar.

Couldn’t help myself.  I had to have one…two….ok three pieces.

Pumpkin Butterscotch Fluffies

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 t ground cinnamon
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 t vanilla extract
1 cup butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 325 F and have the rack in the middle of the oven.  Grease a baking sheet with oil or butter.  Choose the size of the sheet based on how thick you want them.

Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon together and set aside.  In a mixer on medium speed, beat the eggs and sugar until a light yellow, about a minute.  On low speed, mix in the vanilla, pumpkin, and butter.  Mix in the flour mixture well.  Lastly, add the chips and mix evenly.

Fill the pan and spread evenly.  Take into account these rise about 50% during baking.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, depending on thickness.  Check the center with a toothpick and when it comes out clean, it’s done.

You can also chill the dough and scoop them to make cookies.

*next up… chicken Florentine casserole…*

Leave a Reply

