Texas Smoked Brisket…

Alas, the virgin use of my smoker.  We had a birthday party for the 1 yr old in the family so I wanted to make something hearty that everyone would appreciate.  Brisket is a beefy, hearty meat that most people like so I went with that.  With a simple dry rub and 7 hours of smoking, this hunk of meat was succulent and flavorful.

There it is about to go into the smoker after sitting overnight in the fridge with the dry rub penetrating through the tough muscle tissue.  I used a 1:1 ratio of mesquite and hickory wood for smoking.  Hickory has a smoky, bacon like flavor while mesquite adds a sweet delicate flavor.

After the first 6 hours, I also put some mango chicken sausage onto the top shelf to absorb some smoke.  Got them from costco and hot damn were they good.  I forgot the brand (not Aidells).  I made a mango salsa to accompany them on a fluffy bun.

And after 7 hours of smoking, which involved 4 chip additions and many urges to peek inside…

All those spices caramelizing and dripping into the water pan below is a good sign.  But it must rest before cutting into it.

That nice pink ring around each slice is about 1/4″ thick.  The smoke flavoring has achieved my desired saturation.  Be sure to get an end piece so you get 3 sides of spice covering!

Combined with some Triple Whammy Burgers, it’s a good party.  This time I took out the cheese and onion and added a homemade spice mix.  We also had spaghetti, salad, fruit, hot dogs, and of course the cake

The cake was made by my sister, who’s just starting to make cakes professionally.  She’s also starting a blog soon (or should I say I’m starting it for her) so I’ll keep you updated with that.

And it wouldn’t be a pool party without the pool.  This time it was visited by some friendly strangers

Did someone say roasted duck?

Texas Smoked Brisket

3 T paprika
1 T pepper
2 T salt
2 T dark brown sugar
1 T chili powder
2 t cumin
2 t dry mustard
1 T garlic powder
1 T onion powder or dried minced onion

Prepare your charcoal or gas smoker.  Get the temperature between 200F and 225F.  Smoke for one hour per pound (7 hours for me).  Check temperature with an instant thermometer.  You want the meat around 180-190F.  Let it rest at least 20 minutes before cutting.  The longer it rests, the better.

Because it’s so tender and flavorful, sauce is optional.  Slice against the grain and enjoy.

*next up…Cornish Game Hens with Fig Glaze…*

One Response

  1. […] four 10 lb briskets were put into the smoker using my smoked brisket recipe. This time, I used a mopping liquid as well to keep it more moist. The mopping liquid was a […]

Leave a Reply

