Cinnamon Roasted Nuts…

The other day my girlfriend and I went to see Iron Man 2.  See it.  Just do it.  Even with an awesome movie, our theater experience wouldn’t be complete without illegally smuggled snacks.  Ok, so maybe it’s not ILLEGAL, but it is against the formidable rule posted on the theater doors.  I thought about what to bring: cookies, candies, candy coated roasted almonds.  Yes, that’s it.

I like a good roasted nut, almond being my favorite.  But since I like macadamia nuts too, I threw those in as well.  I used my mom’s recipe for this batch. It uses a simple sugary glaze and it uses egg whites to help the sugar bond to the nut without becoming candied on.  Instead the glaze is attached, but not permanently bonded to the nut.  This must be how the roasted nut vendors do it at fairs and markets because it tasted just as divine.

It’s important to bake these until all the moisture is out of them.  You want them dry and crusty, not sticky and caramel like.  I stirred it three times throughout the baking.

Perfecto!

I also got a new camera finally! It’s a Sony HX1.  Now, I’m a total Sony HATER and speaking as a whole for brands, Sony cannot compete with Canon, Nikon, and Panasonic.  However, this particular model is surprisingly good.  For the price, you can’t get a better camera in terms of picture quality with upscale professional features.  I still don’t like Sony 😛

Cinnamon Roasted Nuts

1 egg white
1 t vanilla extract
2 cups whole almonds
1 cup halved macadamias
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 t salt
1 1/2 t cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 250 F.

In a large bowl, whisk the egg white and vanilla until frothy, about 2 minutes.  Mix in the nuts. Mix the remaining ingredients together and add to nuts.  Stir to coat evenly and spread onto a sprayed baking sheet  or jelly roll pan.

Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  Stir every 30 minutes.  Nuts should be dry.  If not, stir and bake a bit longer until no longer sticky.  Cool and store in an air-tight container, or sneak them into the movies.

*next up…Veal Chops with Rosemary Butter…*

Leave a Reply

