Buitoni Tortellini with Marinara Sauce…

Through Foodbuzz’s Tastemaker Program, I received a coupon for Buitoni’s fresh pasta meals.  I chose the mixed cheese tortellini frankly because all the ravioli was out.  Either way, they looked good.  We’ll pair it with a marinara sauce.

As for marinara sauce, I could always whip up the usual tomatoes, wine, spices, and simmer it forever and a day.  Although I came across Giada De Laurentiis’s marinara sauce and it looked interesting.  It had carrots and celery in it.   I’ve never seen that in marinara before.  But hey, this is the authentic italian chef right? So what the hell, let’s do it.

I added a few things, basil being one of them.  Our garden is thriving so better make the most of it. I also added wine, brown sugar, and some fresh tomatoes.

I made some garlic dinner rolls to go with them and it was a hearty meal indeed.  I guess I’m supposed to review Buitoni’s product here.  They were tasty, as almost all fresh pastas are.  Could I have made it better myself? Yes.  Do I want to? No.  Overall, the refrigerated fresh pasta beats dried pasta anytime.  Even a chimpanzee named Norman would know that.

The carrots were weird to others in the family, but I liked it.  The more veggies, the better for me.

Marinara Sauce
Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 large sweet onion, finely chopped
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 stalks celery, finely chopped
2 carrots, finely chopped
1/2 t sea salt
1/2 t black pepper
2 (32 oz) cans crushed tomatoes
2 dried bay leaves
1/2 cup red wine
1 t brown sugar
2 T fresh basil, chopped fine
1 cup fresh grape tomatoes

In a large dutch oven, heat oil over medium high heat.  Add onions and garlic and saute till onions are translucent, about 10 minutes.  Add celery, carrot, and salt/pepper.  Saute another 10 minutes until softened.

Add canned and fresh tomatoes, bay leaves, wine, and sugar and simmer uncovered for 1 hour.  Discard bay leaf and add fresh basil.  Season to taste with salt/pepper.

Have fresh pasta pre-made and toss with sauce.

*next up…Bella Mia visit…*

Leave a Reply

