Seattle trip…

For the last week, I’ve been in Seattle hunting for a place to live as I relocate there.  That’s why I haven’t updated anything lately.  While there, I was driving around non-stop looking at homes and trying to eat good food without making it an inconvenient priority.  Then, while driving in the Fremont area, I saw a long line outside of a little shack.  There wasn’t even a sign for the place (or one that I could see).  One smell of the air outside, and I almost jumped out of the car while driving to get to it.

The smell of the fresh baguettes mixed with the smokey meat scent filled my nose with delight.  Paseo is a small Carribean place making mostly sandwiches, but also entrees.  What you see above is the Midnight Cuban.  It’s filled with slow roasted pork shoulder, banana peppers, caramelized onions, thin ham, and swiss cheese.  It was damned good.

Upon my next hunger craving, I made the trip out there again (so much for convenience) for another the next day.  This time, I got their most popular, the Cuban Roast Pork.

This was my favorite.  The same roasted pork is topped with pickled jalapeños, aioli, lettuce, cilantro, and caramelized onions.  I despise onions, as I’ve said many times before here.  However, they do something to these onions that is miraculous.  Normally, caramelized onions are OK to eat for me, but these were friggin good.  They must use very sweet onions to begin with.  I was eating loose onions as if I hadn’t eaten for days.

This sandwich, correction, this work of art, is the best thing between bread I’ve ever eaten.  Typing this out now is making me salivate.  What happened between this sandwich and my stomach is almost taboo is most cultures.

If you’re ever in the Ballard/Fremont area of north Seattle, do mankind a favor and eat one of these.  You might just move to Seattle for it.

*next up…Sushi!!…*

One Response

  1. Paseo’s is the bomb. Best sandwich I’ve ever had. Pretty awesome that you just happened upon this place.

    Look forward to exploring your blog. I’ve been thinking about doing something like this on another topic.

    -Matt (from PT)

Leave a Reply

