Balsamic BBQ Pork…

I’m finally making my first post since moving to Seattle!  I apologize for the absence, but things have been hectic, money’s been tight, and I’ve been vastly overwhelmed with graduate school.  When furnishing our house, we visited Goodwill many times and found many treasures.  One was a crock pot.  I’ve never used a crock pot before this.  I’ve always simmered things for hours in dutch ovens, pots, pans, etc. But it was $5 so I thought it would be useful since I’m gone all day and dinner is always rushed.  Behold the first recipe used in the crock pot, a savory balsamic bbq pork.

I quickly put this together early in the morning and by dinner, it’s tender, delicious, and makes for a quick sandwich. I bought a petite roast pork.  It’s kind of like pork butt or shoulder, but a bit leaner with less of a fat cap. It was on sale so that’s the choice I went with. Now, I say it’s BBQ, but it tastes nothing like other BBQ recipes I’ve made.  No tomato base here.  It’s more of a sweet and tangy sauce.

You don’t have to marinate the pork overnight, but it wouldn’t hurt. Since it takes so long just to heat the pot, it marinates for a bit in it. Afterwards, shred it and top it on a nice bun. I cooked down the sauce and thickened it.

Balsamic BBQ Pork

4 lb pork roast (butt, shoulder, picnic, petite, etc)
1 clove garlic, smashed
1 1/3 cup brown sugar
salt and pepper
1 T dijon mustard
1 T balsamic vinegar
1/4 t cinnamon

Slice pork into cubes of 2 ” or so. Place in crock pot. Add ingredients, mix well (it will be grainy because of the sugar) and set pot to high. In 7 hours (or longer, wouldn’t hurt), take out pork to shred. Boil down sauce in a saucepan until thickened. Mix well and serve.

*up next…Bacon and Mushroom Penne…*

Leave a Reply

