Dulce de Leche…

Dulce de Leche (DOOL-see de LE-che) is spanish for milk candy. It is very popular as a sauce or addition, just like caramel. In fact, it is almost exactly like caramel. During this craze a few years ago, people starting making it right in the can of sweetened condensed milk. Now you can slowly simmer milk and sugar to do it the old fashioned way, but why not take the easy route? I opted not to boil it in the can for fear of exlposions (which are rare) and I wanted to see the mixture to gauge for myself when I’d be done.

You can read about many ways of cooking it.  Microwaving, boiling in can, and even roasting in a water bath. I wanted to use a double boiler. Why? because it’s over low heat so I won’t be at risk for sudden changes, it’s easy to manage, and I have one so what the hell.

I often like to break recipes down and say that it’s simpler than it looks or whatever.  This time I REALLY mean it.  You put it in a pot, turn on the heat, and check on it from time to time.  That’s it. I mean this is simple cooking people!

This is after about an hour and a half. I wanted a darker, more robust caramel flavor. Stir it around from time to time to prevent a skin from forming, of keep it covered like I did.

Well, I have Dulce de Leche, now what?

ICE CREAM!!!

That’s what.

Dulce de Leche (I feel silly even writing this “recipe”)

1 can sweetened condensed milk

Pour can in double boiler. If you don’t have one, put water in a saucepan and fit a stainless steel bowl over it. Let the water come to a boil, then simmer for 2 hours, stirring the milk occasionally (every 20 minutes or so).

When it’s done, pour it over ice cream, eat it out of the bowl, make lollipops, whatever.

*next up…Salted Dark Chocolate Caramels…*

2 Responses

  1. […] Dulce de Leche… […]

  2. […] used these to make dulce caramels.  The molds are great because you brush on chocolate…let it cool…add caramel […]

Leave a Reply

