Dark Chocolate Salted Caramels…

I love caramel.  It defines my sweet tooth.  I eat a healthy diet, but if provided with caramel, I will indulge.  The mixture of sugar and cream is a match made in dessert heaven.  You remember that Dulce de Leche last post? Well, most of it is going into my handmade caramels.  But first we need chocolate.  Good quality dark chocolate that is.  When it comes to a dessert focused on caramel and chocolate, you have to have good quality ingredients.  These are the only two in fact (unless you count salt).

I used 75% dark chocolate from Trader Joe’s.  It was a good buy at $5 for a big block.  You can melt it in the microwave in small increments. I prefer a double boiler.  I can control it more and microwaves frighten me.  Something about radiation going through my food to shake up the molecules just isn’t natural.

Cut up caramel into rectangles.  Or you can do as i did and just rip them apart into messy blobs.  It’s faster and less presentable! But hey, they’ll be gone in 20 minutes so what’s the big deal?  If they were to be gifted, I would approach them more carefully.  I put the caramel in the freezer for about 5 minutes to harden up first.  This makes handling it much easier.

No matter how messy you make it, it still somehow comes out beautifully.  I used sea salt to top it.  You could use a specialty salt like Sel Gris or Fleur de Sel.  A nice tip is when you’re eating it, flip it upside down so the salt touches your tongue first.  It brings out the saltiness and buttery taste in the caramel.

Dark Chocolate Salted Caramels

Dulce de Leche, or thick caramel sauce, made into finished sizes
Dark chocolate (at least 65%), chopped up
sea salt, or similar

In a double boiler, bring water to a simmer and add chocolate chunks. Let it slowly melt, stirring often.  Don’t have the heat too high or the chocolate won’t melt properly.

Once melted,  bring off the heat and let sit in a bowl for a few minutes to cool to handling temperature. Dip caramels in chocolate to submerge them then let excess drip off and place on wax or parchment paper to cool. While chocolate is still liquid, top with a pinch of salt.

*next up…Sweet Potato Casserole…*

2 Responses

  1. Kyle,

    I was inspired by your post and made some of these to take to Thanksgiving dinner. Huge hit – I think my wife and I are going to make them as Christmas presents now. Didn’t know caramel could be made this way but it’s delicious.

    Thanks for sharing,

    -Matt

  2. Yeah it’s a great way to do it the easy way. Otherwise, you’ll have to measure out the sugar and cream (which isn’t hard). But this way is less maintenance for sure. Glad to hear they were a hit!

    Kyle

Leave a Reply

