Stumbling Goat Bistro…

On Greenwood Ave in Seattle lies a quaint, small restaurant.  Well, actually, there lie many.  I like venturing to the Green Lake area because of all the great restaurants in that area.  And if you exhaust your options there, just drive a few minutes in either direction to Wallingford, Ballard, or Fremont.  I’m going to rename that chunk of land “restaurantopia” and I think it’s quite fitting.

Stumbling Goat is a place I looked up long before I came to Seattle.  However, I never ended up making it there because other things came up, blah blah blah.  Finally I said “screw it, I’m going!” and it was well worth the drive.  They start you off with two types of tapenades: olive and roasted red pepper tomato.  Both were great and we asked for 3 or 4 refills on that.

Morale note: is it wrong or frowned upon to ask for more bread over and over again?

Some say it’s just filler and not a part of the meal.  Sure at times it is.  But when the bread or the condiment served with it is delicious (or both) then I say it is part of the meal and I like to have some before and between dishes.  Am I immoral or a needy patron? I don’t know but who cares; I enjoy my bread.

Separate morale note: when the waiter accidentally brings out two wild mushroom soups and you only ordered one (and says the 2nd is complimentary), do you politely say it’s too much or leave it uneaten?

Hell no! Eat it, especially if it’s as good as this one was.  Wild mushrooms, creme fraiche, and black truffles pureed into oblivion was too good to pass up.  SG’s menu is local and varies, so unfortunately it’s not on their website at this moment, but it may be soon again. The soup was earthy, and “dirty” in a good way that tasted like the mushrooms were foraged that day from deep within the outlying forests around Seattle.

Because I’ve been on a sturgeon kick, I had to order this bad boy.  Seared and served over lentils with a citrus butter sauce, this was a texture gold medal.  The crispy surface of the sturgeon opened the gate to the flaky meat.  Then you bite into the creamy lentils to finish the bite.  Everything went incredibly well together and it was a great seafood dish.  Sometimes a seafood dish isn’t satisfying in flavor or volume, but this definitely was.  Because fish isn’t that filling, the lentils made up for it with their creamy starch.

Beef bourguignon was our other entree.  Kristi and I shared two entrees, so we could each eat the beef and the sturgeon.  It normally works out but she ate all the sauce!!!!! What a travesty!

Well, in her defense, there wasn’t much to begin with.  Typically a beef bourguignon has a soupy stew like consistency.  I was surprised to see this was more like a braised hunk of meat with some sauce.  Either way, it was delightful and savory.  But my recommendation is to make it soupier.  The beef was tender and fell apart easier than Charlie Sheen’s career (could not resist that one).

*next up…Shoyu Ramen…*

 

 

Leave a Reply

