Triple Berry Scones…

For my 100th post…that’s right, 100…I wanted to do something really good. I had Shoyu Ramen planned. And my girlfriend would say that is great because that girl lives for noodles and broth. However, I wanted something spontaneous and full of flavor. Last Sunday, I wandered the kitchen debating what to make for breakfast. Could have gone for the usual meat and eggs or some granola and fruit. Then I thought “hmm, haven’t had scones in a while” and *ding* the light bulb came on.


Most people top their scones with white sugar.  I like to use raw Turbinado sugar because its coarser and has a deeper caramel like flavor.  I had some frozen triple berry blend (blueberry, raspberry, blackberry) and decided to use that.  I mixed them in frozen with the rationale that fresh berries often get smashed when mixing so the frozen ones wouldn’t.  The excess water on the berries from being frozen didn’t seem to affect my outcome either.

They were heart-shaped, but in the oven the heart dip puffed out so it was a blob instead.  As long as it’s tasty I really don’t care.  And it was.  I couldn’t ask more for a perfect Sunday breakfast than a hot cup of coffee and a fresh scone, or three.

What’s with the “triple”s Kyle? Triple Whammy Burgers, Ribs, Grilled Cheese, etc.  What’s the deal?  Well, some say good things come in threes so what the heck? Why not?  Also, for this recipe, I couldn’t just settle for one berry type because I love them all.

There wasn’t enough space on the sheets for more heart scones, so I filled one of my ramekins with the remainder and made a giant muffin/scone.  Needless to say, all 15 or so scones made were gone that day.

Triple Berry Scones

1 T grated Meyer lemon zest
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 T baking powder
1/2 t salt
6 T butter, cut into bits and very cold
1 1/2 cup frozen berry blend
2 large eggs
1 cup whipping cream

Preheat oven to 400 F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a mixer, beat flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, salt, butter and zest until it looks like a coarse meal and transfer to a bowl.  a food processor works as well.

Add berries to flour mixture. In another bowl lightly beat eggs and stir in cream. Add egg mixture to flour mixture and stir until just combined. Over mixing will crush the berries.

On a well-floured surface with floured hands pat dough into a 1-inch-thick round, about 8 inches in diameter.  Using a cookie cutter or other outline, cut out as many shapes as possible.  Use scraps again by reforming ball and flattening. Arrange scones about 1 inch apart on baking sheet and bake in middle of oven 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden.

*next up…Shoyu Ramen…*


 

Leave a Reply

