Brazilian Fish Stew…

This meal was a quickly inspired one from Elise Bauer at SimplyRecipes.  I had some halibut and didn’t know what to do with it.  I had the rest of the ingredients so I chose to do it this way.  It was a quick and hearty meal that certainly pleased my taste buds.  I don’t think I’ve ever had a fish stew other than Cioppino.  So this was a nice introduction to what fish can do.  Plus, the creamy stew has a kick that’s sure to please.

Halibut is one of my favorite white fish.  It can be grilled, broiled, pan fried, deep fried (though I definitely avoid this), and apparently stewed.  My big deal on fish is to make sure it’s fresh.  Fish doesn’t keep like beef or pork which can sit for a couple days in the fridge before you really NEED to use it.  Use it the day it’s bought, and make sure it was prepared for sale the same day.  No one likes old, “fishy” fish.

Ready for my fish…

Ready to simmer away in the rich stew.  And in time it becomes this…

It was great.  I like a little spice in my food (although my mother and sister that my “little” is a lot to them) so certainly limit the pepper if you can’t handle the heat (no pun intended).

Brazilian Fish Stew

2 lbs halibut, or other white fish, cut into chunks
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 T lime juice
salt/pepper
olive oil
1/2 medium sweet onion, about 1 cup, diced
1/4 cup green onion, sliced thinly
1/2 of a red or yellow bell pepper, diced
2 cups fresh tomatoes, diced
1 T paprika
1/2 t red pepper flakes
1 bunch cilantro
1 can (14 oz) coconut milk (not light!)

Combine the fish, garlic, lime juice, salt/pepper, and olive oil in a bowl and sit aside.  In a dutch oven, or other large heavy bottomed pot, heat 2 T olive oil on medium heat.  Add the onion and cook for a few minutes until it’s browned.  Add the peppers, paprika, and red pepper flakes.  Stir for a couple more minutes.

Add tomatoes and green onions and simmer for 5 minutes.  Add the cilantro and mix. Add the fish gently to the pot and try not to break apart. Add coconut milk, bring to a simmer, cover, and cook 15 minutes.

*next up…Whidbey Island Rendevous…*

Leave a Reply

