Garlic Wine Sausage…

At last, a post! My schedule’s been hectic with finals week approaching so I’m squeezing this post out by the skin of my teeth.  I’ve wanted to make sausage for a long time.  I’ve been making bacon, cheese, beer, bread, etc for so long that I wanted to complete my manly Renaissance-like character. I used Michael Ruhlman’s Ratio as a guide to this sausage.

If you’re going to do this, be a decent human being and use natural sausage casings.  If you use synthetic collagen casings, I will be ashamed and probably attack you with a natural casing.

I have my own grinder, so I made my own mixture of 3:1 meat to fat.  I used a pork shoulder and 1 lb beef fat.  However, I did  not take into consideration that pork shoulder is pretty fatty.  I probably didn’t need the added fat, which may have complicated things, as I’ll discuss in a bit.  If you don’t have a grinder, get one.  You can get one for a good deal on Amazon.  It’ll save you money because instead of buying low quality ground beef, you can buy a chuck for the same price or less and grind it yourself.  Gourmet burger here we come!

You’ll notice there’s air in the casings. I tied off my casing after slipping it onto the sausage stuffer attachment to my grinder.  Apparently, you’re supposed to leave to opened so air can escape.  This is a good tip because it prevents air pockets like this, as well as many curse words which will be uttered when your stuffing doesn’t go so well like mine did.

Popping the casing before drying fixes the air pocket problem.  Here’s one right before frying.  You can see that it’s shrunken down and tight.

Garlic Wine Sausage

4 lbs pork shoulder butt, diced
fat (optional).  grind your pork first to see how lean it is.  You want a 3:1 ratio of meat to fat.
2 1/2 T kosher salt
1 T ground black pepper
2 T chili pepper flakes
2 T minced garlic
1 cup red wine, I used syrah
Hog casings (about 10 feet)

Mix meat, fat, salt, pepper, chili flakes, and garlic together.  Chill in refrigerator for a day. Using a stand mixer, mix in the wine on low speed with a paddle attachment for 30 seconds. Mix until the meat it sticky, another minute. Don’t over-mix.

Take casings out of package, they will be salted and dried.  Soak for 20 minutes or s0 in warm water.  Follow the package’s directions. Fry a piece for taste if you wish.

For stuffing, attach the stuffer piece, or is you’re using a sausage stuffer, mount firmly to counter. Slip on casing onto tube.  This is going to sound disturbing, but sliding the casing on will look a little sexual, just deal with it.

Leave a couple inches of casing hanging off.  Don’t tie it like I foolishly did. Start the mixer or stuffer and slowly let the meat fill the casing.  Hold the part of the casing right next to the spout to you can control the progression into the casings. Fill the whole casing, then tie the ends and twist where you want sausage breaks.  Twist 5 or 6 times in one direction, move down the link and twist in the other direction.

Take a sterilized needle or very sharp knife tip and quickly poke holes in several places to let air out.  Place sausage in the refrigerator to dry out for a few hours or overnight, then package.

*next up…Rabbit Stew…*

Leave a Reply

