Visit to Die Bierstube…

In the Ravenna area on Roosevelt, there’s a German pub worthy of visiting. It’s been around since 2004, but I only recently learned of it. I had heard they only serve German beers, in their own brewery steins, and have good German food.  I just had to check it out.

Die Bierstube has bratwursts, pretzels, soup, smoked tenderloin, and other German pub fares. I has the bratwurst sampler. It comes with homemade sauerkraut and German mustards. They were all very good, as you can tell by my forgetfulness to take a picture right when it came.

They also have a morning star pretzel that is very good.  This isn’t the “Bavarian Pretzel” on their menu. It’s an off-menu item from Morning Star Bakery, a German bakery which last I heard closed down. However, they still make pretzels for Whole Foods.

I had a half liter of this good looking brew. Zwick’l Kellerbier, an unpasteurized fresh beer only recently available to the US was a must-try. Because I know how much America sucks at not letting good food and drinks in, I was compelled to try a beer that wasn’t allowed previously. It was amber in color, slightly sweet, nutty, and just very good. It made it onto my Beer & Wine List, my compilation of favorite all time brews and wines.

If you’re in the area, definitely check out this little pub. They even have a club you can join and rack up beers to get personalized steins, plaques, etc.

Leave a Reply

