Won Tons…

I’ve been sick for the past week and a half.  Whenever we get sick, we crave childhood feel-good dishes like chicken noodle soup, mom’s beef stew, basically a lovely soup. I crave won ton soup.  It was a tradition when I was younger to go to Patti’s kitchen in the mall, and after they closed, to Pah Ke’s for their won ton soup, the best on Oahu by far. So when I got the sniffles recently, I thought “mmmm, won tons”.  After sampling a few places around here in Seattle, I was only pleased once.  So I decided to make my own.

2013-01-30 19.52.14

For the filling, I went with pork as that’s the classic filling I’ve always had. I added some seasonings but no fillers.  My dad later suggested adding water chestnuts.  It would have been nice and added some crunch.  This time, however, I wanted full won tons of stomach-pleasing pork!

2013-01-30 21.45.54

I made them all on one night. The first night, we ate them just boiled with a homemade spicy garlic soy sauce.  Yum

Won ton supposedly means “swallowing clouds” in Chinese.  Those Chinese, always using figurative terms.

2013-02-01 19.01.43

These were from the second night, after boiling in our stock made from beef bones. I would normally make pork and chicken stock for this soup, but we had beef bones in the freezer and being sick, I was also too lazy to leave the house.

2013-01-30 19.52.24

Making won tons is easy. Lay down the wrapper, add the filling, brush the corners, and seal.  Voila! Can’t get any easier than this. You can fold it into rectangles, triangles, or even twist the rectangles into decorative bundles. But what the hell, I’m going to eat it, so triangles work for me.

2013-02-01 19.01.49

After the stock was made, I added some carrots, bok choy, and some kamaboko for color and sweet flavor.

2013-02-01 19.06.36

 

Let it soothe the soul…

Won Tons

16 oz won ton wrappers
4 stalks green onion, sliced thinly
2 T soy sauce
2 t rice vinegar
2 t cornstarch
1/2 t sugar or mirin
1 t sesame oil
Slurry of 1 T cornstarch + 1/4 c water.

*note, I use tapioca starch b/c I prefer it.  Just double the ratio of cornstarch*

Mix the pork, green onions, soy sauce, vinegar, cornstarch, sugar, and sesame oil well. Fill wrappers with a spoonful of filling, about 1 level tablespoon. Brush half of the edges with slurry, fold over, and press firmly. Store in single layers on wax paper before cooking.

To cook, add won tons to 2 qts water or stock.

Bring to a boil, then add 1 cup room temperature water or stock.
Repeat one more time. Then you’re done.

If this is too confusing, alternate method of adding to boiling water for 10-12 minutes, but it’s not as moist this way.

Leave a Reply

